Hey gang.

First, some news from other lands as usual:

A bit late, but EvilEagles released some awesome icons. Check ’em out!
Found a nice scripter named Pacman. Go over there and show some luv. 😉 I also love the backround.
Yami released the beta version of her Patching System.

Been learning how to code in Flash. I think it’s goin’ pretty well.
I’ve also been dabbling with sprites and stuff, and makin’ fake logos. If I consider them good enough,
I might make a logo shop…or something.

On to business, then. I’ve been replaying Final Fantasy XII, and it happens to be one of my favorite games too.
I’ve nearly finished a dungeon, when suddenly, a come upon “that one boss”. GOD, it’s infuriating!
I don’t think I’ll be able to finish it unless a grind a lot more.

Therefore, I consider it a learning experience. In fact, most games I consider to be a learning experience
to improve SACXVIII. So here’s what I’ve learned from XII:

  • Less of need to grind
  • No cheap bosses (one’s that constantly stun you, create clones of themselves, etc.)
  • All deads ends should have some kind of treasure chest or something
    (walking down a long path and not finding anything is infuriating)
  • Keep the story going when in dungeons; this is main reason the player response-free text
    is implented in the game.
  •  A save crystal before every boss (the boss I’m stuck at requires you to trek five minutes from the
    last save crystal to the boss, which is very tedious)
  • More puzzles in dungeons

Snowsha Tower (the first dungeon of the game) will only have small, easy sliding puzzles, simply acting as a noob cave.
Fort Evans (the second ‘dungeon’) will have next to no major puzzles.
Later dungeons will have many more challenging puzzles, however. Rest assured, all of them will have lots of treasure.

Now I have more bad and good game news. Let’s start with the good.
I started mapping Treasure Forest, an optional location in the game where (take a hint) treasure is plentiful.
However, it’s filled with hard enemies. Most of the database is completed, too, and I edited the intro slightly.
Now it shows the game logo after the scrolling text is gone.

But now, some bad news. The new demo will have to be delayed.
I’ve been way too busy for my own good. Our school musical had some rehearsal problems, and now we have
to work our butt off until late in the night. I still have to do a LOT of NPC’s, which is quite challenging seeing that
many of them have to some funny dialogue. Not to mention I only have a small supply of actual NPC sprites,
and generating new ones is very time consuming.

Anyway, new demo should be coming soon, maybe next weekend. Maybe.
Until then, peace out gang.

